Back on the Bullet Journal trail

This week’s been a slow one and we haven’t made much progress with the decluttering or packing. My excuse? Baby #2 is having a Wonder Week! Yes, my usually chilled, easy-going boy has been Mr. Unhappy for a good number of days now but according the app there are only three days left to go (assuming he’s a text book WonderWeeker, of course.)

But it hasn’t been totally wasted. A discussion on the Natural Mamas forum I frequent prompted me to look at bit more closely at my Bullet Journal so I’ve made the most of my sitting about cuddling and jiggling time by doing some BuJo homework and getting inspired. There are some great resources out there, starting with bulletjournal.com, the source of all things Bullet Journal. If you’ve no idea what bullet journaling is, this is a great place to start. Watch the video, as I did, and see whether it grabs you. If you think you like the look of it, check these sites out for inspiration: Boho Berry, Hello Brio, and Tiny Ray of Sunshine. They’re all WordPress blog sites so you can Follow them, if you like what you see.

As far as my bullet journal goes I’ve been using a very simple layout and basic key for about a year now and it has proven it’s worth to me many times. I’m a list-maker by nature and also have bit of a stationery fetish, so it sits very well with my personal style. I find that writing things down makes things real and makes them more likely to be remembered or, in the case of making a plan, makes things more likely to happen. I only reluctantly gave up my Filofax two smart phone ago, resisting the technological push for as long as I could, but then found that digital organisation is confusing! I like to be able to flick through my diary or to-do list and see what’s what. Pages on a screen weren’t working for me and I was starting to feel disorganised. I would say my love affair with the bullet journal was instant. I recently rediscovered it’s power when I needed to find an e-mail address from someone we met on holiday over two years ago. Thanks to the BoJo indexing system I was able to find it in a matter of minutes! With digital notes, calendars, etc. spread all over I suspect I’d never have found it (adding it to my address book at the time would have been too obvious :-))

On this journey into Bullet Journaling I’ve been reminded that, not only do I love to write things down, I also love to doodle! I was a prolific doodler while studying; idly drawing patterns and pictures alongside notes during lectures helped me to remember things and also helped me to stay awake and present through some of the drier subject areas – and I studied philosophy, so there were many of those! On the back of the last few days’ research I now have a quarterly goals page, a blog ideas page, a tracker page (for recording how often in the month I achieve tasks related to my goals) – all blatantly copied from the websites I recommended above. Next up I plan to do a well-being wheel, which is an idea I got from the discusison on the Natural Mamas forum. All this planning is really good for me as, with so much going on, there are times it feels like we’re hurtling towards and unknowable end, focusing on the big picture, making it easy to lose sight of the closer to home and the day-today. Throw children into the mix and it’s no surprise to me that I haven’t really thought about much other than moving and sleeping for the best part of the last six months. That needs to change as we need to do better at things like budgeting and meal planning, and it’s important to me that I reach my fitness goals, get some head space, spend quality time with DD, and have the time to develop a new business, so we can continue to live our new life once the money runs out! I’ll share my wheel once I’ve finished it. For now I’m using the basic categories and, unpopulated, it looks like this:

IMG_2686

I clearly have a way to go if my BuJo efforts are every to be as beautiful as many others I’ve seen online, but it’s functional. Now to find my colouring pencils which, if DD hasn’t hidden, lost or broken them, have probably been packed. Hmm.

[I thought I’d add  a picture for a change. What do you think? More pictures?]

 

 

Leave a Reply

